Don’t Let the First Impression be the Last Impression

Okay, so I already expect to get a few differing opinions on this one, but hear me out first:

WHEN IT COMES TO ONLINE DATING, YOU CAN’T ALWAYS GO WITH YOUR FIRST IMPRESSION

Allow me to give you an example…

When my eyes first scanned my ex’s eHarmony profile, I couldn’t hold back a smile. He was not only incredibly handsome, but his profile made me laugh– out loud! And I don’t make this LOL claim lightly.

Under books I enjoy reading he wrote, “The Little Engine That Could. No matter how many times I read it, I keep rooting for that little guy! Does he make it up the hill? You’ll have to read it to find out.”

I was stunned. We had the exact same sense of humor– random, goofy, bizarre… And even though he lived hours away, and I almost NEVER write a guy first, I had to tell him how much I loved his profile. Instantly, our repartee began.

imagesCABVV6IK

Now, take my current BF, who I met on Match. He only posted three photos, all of which made it difficult to determine his actual level of cuteness. Then, to top it off, his profile was sparse and relatively bland– no sign of wit or spark of humor.

So you may be thinking, why did you agree to a date, then? If humor is so important, why didn’t you write him off right away? Well friends, because the profile isn’t everything.

And here’s why:

He seemed sweet from the initial emails, so I agreed to a drink. What could it hurt? Then, lo and behold, we HIT IT OFF! Not only was he sweet (and cute), but he was goofy with a sarcastic edge! My favorite! Turns out, he was new to the area and his coworkers had signed him up on Match. He wasn’t sold on the idea and hadn’t spent the time to vamp up his profile, which explains why his humor didn’t come across in type.

imagesCADAPHAA

Of course, it’s always a good sign when someone’s profile sparkles and catches your eye, but if it doesn’t, you shouldn’t always rule them out. In truth, there could be many reasons why someone’s online profile doesn’t do them justice.

The naysayers will tell you not to waste your time. I’ve read several online dating advice books that will tell you to end communication if their profile doesn’t stack up to your looming list of requirements. But there’s something to be said for benefit of the doubt– and the magic of meeting in person. In the end, what’s one drink (be it Starbucks or Manhattan)? And if you don’t click in person, on to the next! But at least you’ll know you didn’t accidentally pass up someone great– who just so happens to be better in person than on paper (or screen).

4 thoughts on “Don’t Let the First Impression be the Last Impression

  1. I’m all for benefit of the doubt – people can surprise you sometimes. I even have friends who are in great relationships who didn’t think much of their now-boyfriends after the first (or even second) dates! I think there is sometimes something to be said for gut feelings though – you just have to learn to tell the difference between a snap judgment and a true gut feeling. Maybe it’s kind of an art after a while! 🙂 -L

    • You’re absolutely right! You DO have to go with your gut sometimes– which for some comes naturally, and for others it’s learned through time and trial and error. LOL Thank you so much for commenting and following. 🙂

    • Thank you! Believe me, I made my fair share of dating mistakes! Hence, my book title. There are so many things I wish people had told me before I started dating online! LOL Thank you so much for following! I really appreciate it, and if my mistakes help you at all, then it was all worth it. 😉

Leave a Reply

