Time to get Cheeky? (A New Trend in Online Dating)

As we all know, the realm of online dating is constantly changing, and new technology is popping up all the time (Can anyone say Tinder?). But is all this change really making dating any better?

Cheek’d founder Lori Cheek seems to think so. Then, her idea of online dating evolution may in fact be a devolution. I’ll let you be the judge. (Oh, who am kidding? Of course I’ll judge too!)

Here’s how Cheek’d (and other sites, such as MeSayingHi) works:

You go online and create a profile. Doesn’t sound that much different, yet, right? Then the site gives you a unique ID Code. Okay, now we’re mixing things up. Next, you customize a set of calling cards, if you will. These cards resemble business cards, except instead of your company info, the cards contain a quirky, cute, cheesy, goofy, lame, charming (I’ll let you pick the adjective) pickup line. On the other side of the card is your ID code.

Now what? The next part is simple. Or difficult, depending on your personality. When you’re out and about, doing your thing, if someone catches your interest, you slip them one of your Cheek’d cards. Then, I suppose, you slip away mysteriously into the night.

The object of your interest now has your ID code and can go to the website, look up your profile and see if they’d like to date you. According to the Cheek’d website this is online dating, only backwards.

Let’s pause for a moment. Does anyone think this is going to work? For the sake of the argument, let’s say it’s just like handing someone your business card with “you’re cute, call me” scribbled on the back.” How often does that actually work?

My problem with the process is this: if I’m going to hand someone a card, I’m probably going to talk to them, at least for a second, and if I’m going to do that, can’t we both decide then and there if it’ll go any further? I think the draw of online dating is that you’re not face to face. In this scenario, your interaction is limited, but you still have to have the balls to approach someone.

Then again, maybe it’s the right amount of  whimsy, charm, and personal contact, without the higher risk of rejection?

So, is this in fact the next step in online dating? Or is it a fleeting fad? Personally, I’m not sure if Match should move over just yet, but I’ll let Lori plead her case:

What do you think?

 

9 thoughts on “Time to get Cheeky? (A New Trend in Online Dating)

  1. Patti Stranger (Millionaire Matchmaker) suggests something similar in her book “Become Your Own Matchmaker” She suggests having larger cards (think 3×5) with your professionally taken photo on one side and you vital stats on the other. I can’t imagine this taking off… Can you imagine. “Here’s my card. Call me! *wink*” While standing in line at Starbucks?

    • I could never pull that off! And personally, I hope it doesn’t catch on! Although I advocate online dating, I have to admit it can be pretty impersonal. But imagine if we conducted “real life” interactions the same way. So strange. I haven’t read her book though, is it good? She’s a hoot on her show.

      • It has some good advice, like no sex before monogamy, and focus on getting healthy for yourself first, especially right after a break up. She strikes me sometimes as a bit harsh on peoples looks though.

      • I love her “no sex before monogamy” rule! She is harsh sometimes. I admit, as a viewer, it can be pretty funny. I think she has a point about presenting ourselves in the best way possible, but I think she says a lot of things for shock factor. Have you seen her film/video Married in a Year?

  2. Patti is a favorite of mine simply because her personality (and appearance) has become so intense over the last few years of her show. She makes some very good points for both sexes in the dating spectrum, but delivers them with Bravo-producer-pushed crazy that makes me just cackle. In any case, I can see myself trying to be coy and giving someone a card and either trying to get away quickly and hurting myself OR having their significant other hunt me down and try to kill me. No bueno. Let’s just keep it online and then move to real people, as it should be 🙂

    • I completely agree- on both counts! Patti, in all her larger-than-life glory, makes me laugh! (Although, if she were to give me a make-over, I’d probably cry. LOL) And there’s just something that feels strange about online dating backwards. Either I’m going to meet you online first, THEN move to “real life,” or I’m going to meet you in “real life,” and keep it there. I’m debating on buying her video, Married in a Year, just to hear what outrages things she has to say! 🙂

Leave a Reply

